PIAC gets 8 new members

The newly sworn-in members with the Chief Director of the Ministry of Finance, Ms Eva Mends after the ceremony

The Public Interest and Accountability Committee (PIAC) has welcomed eight members into its ranks.

The new members, who have been inducted members, have been entrusted with the crucial responsibility of ensuring the judicious management of the country’s petroleum revenues.

The swearing-in ceremony, officiated by the Chief Director of the Ministry of Finance, Ms. Eva Mends, took place on behalf of the Minister for Finance. All eight appointees took both the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy, affirming their commitment to the cause.

The new members, meticulously chosen from PIAC’s nominating institutions, will undertake their duties in alignment with the Petroleum Revenue Management Act, 2011 (Act 815). The Act stipulates that members may serve either a 2-year renewable term or a 3-year non-renewable term.

The incoming members have assumed their roles, taking over from their predecessors who had completed their respective terms on the Committee. The new members include:

  1. Ms. Sena Dake, representing the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana (ICAG).
  2. Nana Kwaku Dei (Mr. Ransford Tetteh), representing the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA).
  3. Mr. Richard Ellimah, representing Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) and Community-Based Organizations (CBOs).
  4. Mr. Edward Yaw Afriyie, representing the Association of Ghana Industries (AGI) and Ghana National Chamber of Commerce and Industry (GNCCI).
  5. Dr. Noble Ibrahim Adjin Lartey, representing the Muslim Groups.
  6. Mr. Constantine Kudzedzi, representing the Christian Groups.
  7. Mr. Christopher Opoku Nyarko, representing the Ghana Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (GHEITI).

Furthermore, a continuing Member, Odeefuo Amoakwa Buadu VIII, representing the National House of Chiefs, saw his tenure renewed by his nominating institution and was also sworn in.

Ms. Eva Mends congratulated the new members and emphasized the importance of their collective effort in supporting PIAC’s mission as an independent oversight body committed to promoting transparency and accountability in the administration of petroleum revenues.

She also commended the outgoing members for their contributions and wished them well in their future endeavors.

Meanwhile, she reaffirmed the Ministry of Finance’s unwavering commitment to PIAC’s work, which is aligned with the government’s dedication to the judicious management of public finances. She urged the new members to collaborate closely with the Ministry to ensure that petroleum revenues continue to benefit all citizens.

Odeefuo Amoakwa Buadu VIII, on behalf of the new members, expressed gratitude to their nominating institutions and the Ministry for entrusting them with the responsibility to serve on the Committee.

He conveyed the new members’ readiness to work harmoniously as a team to advance PIAC’s objectives in the efficient management and utilization of petroleum revenues.

Odeefuor Amoakwa Buadu VIII took the opportunity to also pay tribute to the previous members of PIAC, acknowledging their remarkable service to the Committee.

As they embark on their journey, the new members are poised to continue the legacy of ensuring transparency and accountability in Ghana’s petroleum revenue management, he noted.

Leave a Reply