New UPSA governing council inaugurated


The newly-reconstituted Governing Council of the University of Professional Studies, Accra, has been inaugurated.

The Council, appointed by the president in consultation with the Council of State, was sworn in on July 21, 2021 by the Minister of Education, Yaw Osei Adutwum.

The members are: Dr. Kofi Ohene-Konadu, Chairperson; Prof. Abednego F.O. Amartey, ViceChancellor; Government appointees are Prof. Mrs. Ernestina Fredua Anto, Mr. Kizito Beyuo and Mr. Maxwell Donkor; Mr. Paul Kwesi Amoasi Baidoo, Conference of Assisted Secondary Schools (CHASS); and Mr. John Dadzie-Mensah, Ghana Tertiary Education Commission (GTEC) respectively.

The others are: Mr. Ampem Darko Anianpam (UTAG); Mr. Kwabena Akuamoah Agyekum (Professional Bodies); Mr. Mark Badu-Aboagye (Ghana National Chamber of Commerce); Mr. Francis Dadzie (Alumni); Mr. Israel K. Nyatuame (TEWU); and Mr. Joseph Azangeo (Convocation).

At a swearing-in ceremony, the Minister of Education charged members to ensure that graduates of the university are “fit for purpose”. He said the Council must endeavour to steer UPSA to attain the optimal value addition for students, equipping them with the requisite relevant soft-skills to mould them into better individuals than they were on enrolment.

The Minister applauded UPSA for its community service to the La Nkwantanang 7 & 8 Basic Schools, and urged the Council to work diligently on creating even more opportunities for needy but brilliant students in its locality to ensure that these students benefit from the quality higher education provided by the university.

In his response, the Governing Council’s Chairman, Dr. Kofi Ohene-Konadu, thanked the minister and expressed his graduate for another opportunity serve in that capacity – reiterating their commitment to deliver on its mandate and move the university to the next level.

Also present at the inauguration ceremony were Deputy Director-General of GTEC, Dr. Ahmed Jinapor; Prof. Charles Barnor, Pro-Vice-Chancellor-UPSA; Dr. Koryoe Anim-Wright, Registrar-UPSA; and Mr. Nicholas Adjei, Director of Finance-UPSA.

Leave a Reply