Bawumia wants Ghana to become pharmaceutical R&D hub in sub-region


Vice-President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia has tasked all players in the pharmaceutical industry to work toward making Ghana the go-to destination in all things pharmaceutical in the sub-region.

“I urge all the players in the pharmaceutical sector, including the private sector, to pull resources together to turn Ghana into a vibrant pharmaceutical research and development and production hub,” he said.

Speaking at the maiden Ghana Pharma Awards which came off in Accra last week, Dr. Bawumia noted that this will not only support healthcare delivery but also provide jobs and their associated benefits to millions in Ghana.

The Vice-President added that it is about time government earmarked a zone within a suitable location to be developed into an industrial park exclusively for pharmaceutical industries.

“This will lead to a generation of modern pharmaceutical manufacturing facilities which would be in the most competitive position to meet all current international Good Manufacturing Practices (GMP) standards, including the WHO-Prequalification standards; and to produce high-quality affordable medicines not only for local consumption, but also for export into the world market,” he added.

Government, according to Dr. Bawumia, is currently looking at the Ghana Pharmaceutical Sector Development Strategy document, and will consider the proposal to set up a National Bio-equivalence Centre in collaboration with the Pharmaceutical Society of Ghana, Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association and other stakeholders.

Extend services to rural areas

Dr. Bawumia, in acknowledging the support of the pharmaceutical society in helping improve healthcare delivery in the country, urged the industry players including the Pharmaceutical Society of Ghana to extend their services to the rural and deprived areas in the country.

“Most of our rural communities do not have any means of access to pharmaceutical services delivery unless they travel long distances. This development impedes the objective of making healthcare delivery easily accessible to all Ghanaians, with ramifications for attainment of the SDGs.”

The award winners

The Ghana Pharma Awards recognise excellence and provide recognition throughout the entire supply chain in the Pharmaceutical Industry. The purpose is to celebrate thinkers and creators, and serve as a strong advocate for individuals and companies that are committed to driving the industry forward.

The maiden edition came off the back of the University of Ghana School of Pharmacy’s 10th anniversary celebration.

The School of Pharmacy (SOP), University of Ghana presented some ‘Special Recognition Awards’ to its members. They are Founding Provost, Prof. Seth Ayittey; Founding Provost at inception of SOP, Prof. Clifford Nii Boi Tagoe; Founding Dean, Prof. Arthur Commey Sackeyfio; Honorary Award as Immediate Past-Dean, Prof. Alexander K. Nyarko; Founding Faculty Officer, Bernice Tamakloe; First Senior Member, Dr. Ofosua Adi Dako; First Senior Staff, Phyllis Dossah; First Junior Staff, Samuel Acquah; and Longest Serving Visiting Lecturer, Prof. Isaac Asante.

For the Industry Leadership Awards, winners include Ghana Standard Authority, Food and Drugs Authority, Pharmaceutical Society of Ghana, Chamber of Pharmacy Ghana, Pharmacy Council, Ghana, and Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association of Ghana.

Others winners include Harrison Kofi Abutiate for the Lifetime Achievement Award; Benjamin Kwame Botwe, Outstanding Leadership Award; Lydia Alhassan, Woman of Excellence Award; Aide Chemist, Emerging Brand of the Year; Rajesh Wadhwani, Supra Pharmacy, Promising Entrepreneur of the Year; Richard Acheampong, Rokmer Pharma, Promising CEO of the Year; Tinatett Herbal Company, Promising Herbal Company of the Year; and Kofikrom, Promising Company of the Year.

The rest are Brand of the Year, Ernest Chemists; Entrepreneur of the Year, Ernest Bediako Sampong, Ernest Chemists; Personality of the Year, Gopal Vasu-M&G Pharmaceuticals; Outstanding Contribution to the Pharmaceutical Industry, Dhananjay Tripathi, Pharmanova; Company of the Year, Tobinco Pharmaceuticals; and CEO of the Year, Ernest Bediako Sampong, Ernest Chemists.

Leave a Reply