2023 Football Awards: Mohammed Kudus named Footballer of the Year


Mohammed Kudus was named the Footballer of the Year at the 5th edition of the Ghana Football Awards held at the Accra International Conference Centre last Sunday night.

The Ajax star held off competition from fellow Black Stars players – Joseph Paintsil and Abdul Salis Samed, to pick up the award after a very good season with. At the national team level, Kudus, was Ghana’s brightest player in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar where he scored twice in the team’s only victory of the competition; a 3-2 victory over South Korea.

The men’s coach of the year award went to Evans Adotei of Medeama Sporting Club for guiding the team to their first ever Ghanaian league title.

Medeama won a host of other awards on the night. Their Acting CEO and President, Moses Armah, picked up the CEO of the year gong, they picked up the male team of the year for winning the Ghanaian league and their goalkeeper, Felix Kyei, was named Goalkeeper of the Year.

The Ghana Football Awards board recognised the works of Sir Sam Jonah and Alberta Sackey with the Living Legend awards.

Sir Sam Jonah was given the Living Legend Award for his work in football as the chairman of Obuasi Goldfields (now Ashgold) in the 90s when they dominated the Ghanaian football league.

Former Black Queens captain, Alberta Sackey, was awarded for her pioneering work in women’s football in Ghana.

She led Ghana to her first FIFA World Cup appearance at senior level in 1999 and captained the team again in the 2003 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The female team of the year award went to Ampem Darkoa Ladies for winning the Malta Guinness Women’s Premier League and the Women’s FA Cup

Their coach, Joe Nana Adarkwa, was named the women’s team coach of the year for guiding the team to their league and FA Cup double.

The special fan award went to Die Hard Supporters Union for their constant support for the country’s national football teams on their various assignments.

Princess Owusu of Fabulous Ladies won the Women’s Goal Queen in the 2022/23 Malta Guinness Women’s Premier League. She bagged 17 goals for her team in the season.

The men’s goal king award went to Abednego Tetteh of Gold Stars for his 18-goal haul in the 2022/23 Betpawa Ghana Premier League.

The goal of the year went to Asante Kotoko’s Eric Zeze for his brilliant individual goal against Aduana Stars in the Betpawa Ghana Premier League.

Asante Kotoko won the Most Vibrant Club On Social Media.

Chief Executive of Wembley Sports, Robert Coleman was honoured with the Thumbs Up Award for his immeasurable contribution to grassroot development in Ghana for the construction of over sixty astro turfs across the country.

FC Nordsjaelland star, Ernest Nuamah wins the Odartey Lamptey Future Stars award for his exceptional season in the Danish Super League where he had a 16-goal contribution.

Mary Amponsah of Ampem Darkoa Ladies won the female Home-based Player of the Season award for her brilliant contributions to the team’s success in the league and women’s FA Cup.

Tamale City’s Sampson Eduku walked away with the Home-based Player of the Season award after an impressive season where he scored 14 goals and had three assists in the 2022/2023 betPawa Premier League season.

Nigeria International Victor Osimhen was named the Best African International Award for an exceptional season with Napoli where he won the top scorers award plus winning the Scudetto.

AS Far’s Blessing Shine Agbomadzi for her brilliance walked home with the 2023 Women’s Footballer of the Year.

Ghana’s fallen heroes were also recognized for their immense contribution to the development of football in Ghana over the years. Credit: Citi Sports

Leave a Reply