6th Ghana Energy Awards honours NAPO, 31 others

The event took place in Accra under the theme ‘Global decarbonisation: A just and equitable energy transition in Ghana’.

The 2022 edition of the Ghana Energy Awards has honoured Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Minister of Energy, along with 31 other individuals and institutions for their contributions to the country’s energy sector.

The minister was recognised with the Exceptional Commitment to Africa’s Energy Transition award for his numerous efforts toward growth of the energy sector and an open display of commitment to the country’s energy transition.

The event took place in Accra under the theme ‘Global decarbonisation: A just and equitable energy transition in Ghana’.

It was graced by Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, ministers of state, the Turkish Ambassador to Ghana and Australian High Commissioner; Chief Director of the Ministry of Energy, Wilhelmina Asamoah; representative of the Chief Justice, Justice Yonny Kulendi, members of the diplomatic corps and other stakeholders.

The Vice President presented the honourary award, which was received on Dr. Prempeh’s behalf by Dr. Amin Adam, the Deputy Minister of Energy.

“You have been unequivocal in your commitment to Ghana’s energy transition, shown by the recent outdooring of the National Energy Transition Framework: the result of a painstaking nationwide stakeholder consultative approach and a framework geared at guiding Ghana’s transition to a net-zero economy by 2070 in a just and equitable manner, as well as minimising possible stranded assets and job losses in the oil and gas sector.

“Your consultatory approach has been backed by clear objectives toward the transition to using renewables, epitomised by the development of large-scale solar farms on dam-lake surfaces such as the Pwalugu Multi-Purpose Dam, which will be a source of both solar and hydro energy; the implementation of 20-megawatt solar power plants in remote communities; revision of local content legislation; the electrification of island communities and hard-to-reach areas with renewable energy technologies; and extension of the Scaling Up Renewable Energy Programme (SREP) to include prioritised projects, such as solar streetlights and off-grid solar power projects, for isolated communities,” part of the minister’s citation read.

Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, Chief Executive of the Volta River Authority (VRA), took home the coveted title of the night – Energy Personality of the Year in the male category; with Harriet Amissah Arthur of Arthur Energy Advisors receiving the female Energy Personality of the Year award.

Chief Executive-Bui Power Authority, Samuel Kofi Dzamesi, picked up Chief Executive of the Year in the Power Sector; while Edwin Provencal, Chief Executive Officer-BOST, took home the Chief Executive award for the petroleum category.

In the non-competitive section of the awards, the late Prof. Francis Kofi Ampenyin Allotey – world renowned Ghanaian scientist and mathematician – was posthumously honoured with the Lifetime Award for his diverse contributions to growth of the energy sector and science education in the country.

Overall, 31 individuals and institutions received various recognitions for diverse contributions to growth in different aspects of the country’s energy sector value chain.

Leave a Reply