8-member committee to investigate claims in motion for censure against Ofori-Atta

Place a cap on GNPC’s CSI expenditure - PIAC urges Parliament

The Speaker pf Parliament, Alban Bagbin, in consultation with leadership of the House has constituted an 8-member ad-hoc committee to investigate claims and allegations in the motion for censure against Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta.

The committee, co-chaired by former Deputy Attorney General, Dr. Dominic Ayini, and former Deputy Energy Minister, KT Hammond, has 7 days to present its report, after which a debate will be taken to decide on Ken Ofori-Atta’s fate.

This comes following Minority Leader, Haruna Iddrisu’s move of the motion in Parliament, stating the grounds for the decision to oust the finance minister, ranging from breaches of the constitution, conflicts of interest, and general mismanagement of the economy.

The decisions of the finance minister according to the Minority Leader, have led to recent hardships that Ghanaians are facing, and the poor performance of the Cedi, among other economic challenges faced the country.

Meanwhile, the Majority group earlier in the day, stated their position to stay clear off the motion, even though a couple of weeks ago, some of them had demanded the exit of thefinance minister.




Leave a Reply