Ghana Energy Awards: Kufuor, late Rawlings receive Lifetime Achievement Awards, 27 others honoured

Ghana Energy Awards: Kufuor, late Rawlings receive Lifetime Achievement

The 2021 Ghana Energy Awards (GEA) has honoured deserving personalities and companies in the country’s energy industry, including former President John Agyekum Kufour and late President Jerry John Rawlings, for their diverse contributions to the sector at a ceremony in Accra.

The 5th edition of the prestigious awards, under the theme: “Digitalised energy sector: The key for a resilient economic future”, was dedicated to acknowledging and rewarding the sector’s efforts at digitalisation and their impacts on innovation and the overall energy business environment. It was organised by the Energy Media Group in partnership with GP Business Consulting.

At the height of the event, Chief Executive of the Volta Authority, Ing. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, was crowned the Energy Personality of the Year, with Tullow Ghana’s Deputy Managing Director, Cynthia Lumor claiming the coveted Female Energy Personality of the Year.

Chief Executive of the Ghana Grid Company, emerged the CEO of the Year in the power category while Dr Ben K. D. Asante, CEO of Ghana Gas topped in the petroleum category. Energy Company of the Year for Power was Sunon Asogli Power, GOIL took the same award in the petroleum category, with Meinergy Technology picking the award in the Renewable category.

The Bui Power Authority picked up double awards for Excellence in Power Generation and Clean Energy Initiative of the Year.

Chaired by former president John Agyekum Kufuor, the 5th GEA had in attendance the Minister of Energy, Dr Matthew Opoku-Prempeh, Dr Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings, and several representatives of government, various heads of organisations and institutions present to grace the occasion.

Lawyer Kwame Jantuah, Chairman of the GEA Awarding Panel, noted that the devastating changes imposed on the world by the Coronavirus pandemic had created the necessary environment for the shift toward digitalisation which is imperative for the much needed energy transition.

The GEA, he said, believes the ‘digital pandemic sweeping across the globe’ will usher in an introduction of massive technology into Ghana’s energy sector, hence the theme for this year’s awards.

Appreciating the choice of theme for the event, Dr Matthew Opoku Prempeh, Minister of Energy, said “it is President Akufo-Addo’s vision that in the 21st century, the country should be able to take advantage of the innovative tool of digitalisation to power and propel the economy.” For which reason, government is undertaking several digital innovations to improve efficiencies and better mobilise revenues.

These digital solutions the Minister said, included the National Petroleum Authority’s National Retail Outlet Fuel Monitoring System, a digital setup that allows the NPA to monitor the fuel in the tanks of all OMCs in Ghana in real time to prevent illegal fuel trade in the petroleum downstream sector;  the Ghana Petroleum Register to enhance transparency in the upstream petroleum sector, and the Local Content E-Portal System, both for the petroleum upstream; while in the power sector, there is the Meter Management System (MMS) for the Electricity Company of Ghana, a setup which provides a common digitalised platform for the integration of all ECG’s smart prepaid meters for effective monitoring and management to reduce commercial losses.

Ing. Henry Teinor, the Event Director, in his speech noted that the Ghana Energy Awards Scheme had come far to gain the industry’s unreserved approbation and participation. Thus, from 2022 the energy industry should look forward to several value additions to the initiative. These will include newly designed awards plaques which will be a unique emblem of the Ghana Energy Awards; special forum for all winners, as well as for all nominees to discuss pertinent issues toward the sector’s advancement.

He added that in the next five years, the GEA Scheme should be able to enter into the West African sub-region. “Even though the continent is large, we want to start from the sub-region. Having the scheme accepted and institutionalised here in Ghana makes it easier to replicate in the rest of the sub-region. So going forward, our focus would be to have more of the sub region’s players actively participate in the awards,” he stressed.

The 2021 Ghana Energy Awards honoured the Ministry of energy with the Excellence in Leadership and Governance Award, while the Ghana National Gas Company and the Energy Commission took home the awards for the Student impact programme of the year-Tertiary cycle for The Gas Challenge, and the Student impact programme of the year–Secondary cycle for Renewable Energy Challenge, respectively. Senyo Hosi, CEO of CBOD received the Exemplary Leadership Award, with the Women-In-Energy Excellence Award going to Dr Stella Agyenim-Boateng, Deputy Chief Executive, Services of the VRA.

The Lifetime Achievement Honours, bestowed upon former President John Agyekum Kufuor, is in recognition of his contributions to the country’s energy sector, especially for his roles in Ghana’s oil find in 2007 and the realisation of the West African Gas Pipeline.

For late President Flt. Lt. Jerry John Rawlings, whose award was received by Dr. Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings, he was recognised for his astute leadership in reforming the energy sector, increasing electricity access, and the securing of thermal complementation into the energy mix to offset power shortfalls from hydro plants.

Other award winners include: Digital Leadership Impact Award – Mami Dufie-Ofori, Executive Secretary, PURC; Outstanding Contribution to Digitalisation – Electricity Company of Ghana; Rising Star Award – Juliana Serwaa Adusei, Bui Power AAuthority Energy Institution of the Year – Africa Centre for Energy Policy (ACEP); Exceptional Digital Management Award – Volta River Authority and; Innovation Project of the Year – Equator Energy

Others are Digitalisation Project of the Year – MiDA, Emerging Energy Company of the Year – Alpha TND; Energy Consultancy Service Organisation of the Year – Arthur Energy Advisors; Brand of the Year – PETROSOL and Corporate Social Responsibility of the Year – Petroleum Commission.

The rest include Off-Grid Energy Solution of the Year – SunPower Innovations, Excellence in Digital Service Delivery – National Petroleum Authority and Energy Reporter of the Year – Kingsley Nana Boadu, Ghana Broadcasting Corporation.

Leave a Reply