Alban Bagbin elected Speaker of 8th Parliament


The Chief Justice of Ghana  Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah has on Thursday, January 8, 2021, has sworn in Alban Sumana Kingsford Bagbin as Speaker of the 8th Parliament of the 4th Republic.

His swearing in followed an election through a secret voting process on the Floor of the House, which he won by 138 votes.

Having been Member of Parliament for over 28 years, Mr. Bagbin has also served several positions in government including a Health Minister, and the Second Deputy Speaker in the previous Parliament.

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) proposed Alban Bagbin as their candidate for the position of Speaker of Parliament, while the New Patriotic Party(NPP) presented  Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye who served as Speaker for the previous Parliament from 2017 to 2021.

Leave a Reply