NPA hands over 22 solar powered mechanised boreholes


The National Petroleum Authority (NPA) has handed over twenty-two solar power mechanised boreholes to 12 municipal assemblies across the country.

The beneficiary assemblies include Builsa North, Akuapim North, Juaben, Bongo, Tain, Suhum, Yilo Krobo and Shai Osudoku. The rest are Adaklu, Wa, Awutu and Akuapim South.

Speaking at the boreholes handing-over ceremony at Okornya and Salosi, both in Yilo Krobo municipality, the NPA Chief Executive in a speech read on his behalf by the Coordinator of Unified Petroleum Price Fund, Mr. Samuel Asare Bediako, stated that the NPA “sees the construction of these mechanised boreholes as part of its social contract to the petroleum consuming public, who are important stakeholders in the Authority’s business operations”.

He further said that the NPA’s commitment to “ensuring access to petroleum products in every community across the country” is complemented by the Authority’s continuous support of communities when possible.

The Chief Executive also said: “It is a sacred pledge and we shall keep to it”, emphasising the Authority’s commitment to contributing to national development.

The Municipal Chief Executive of Yilo Krobo, Ebenezer Kupualor, on his part thanked the NPA for its intervention – adding that “the borehole project is a necessary intervention for the people who live in these communities”.

Mr. Kupualor assured the NPA that the project will be preserved through great maintenance by the people, who will no longer have to travel long distances for water.

Leave a Reply