MTN wins big at 10th GITTA 2020


-StandChart adjudged Digital Bank of the Year

Telecommunication giants, MTN Ghana Limited, emerged as the biggest winner at the 10th Ghana Information Technology & Telecom Awards (GITTA 2020), walking away with five organisational and two individual awards totalling seven.

MTN started the night with Digital Transformation Company of the Year Award, and continued with Mobile Operator of the Decade, followed by Social Impact Company of the Year, then Mobile Money provider of the Decade, which went to MTN MoMo, as well as Customer Experience of the Decade Award, won by MTN Customer Service.

At the individual awards level, CEO of MTN Ghana, Selorm Adadevoh, was adjudged Industry Personality of the Year, whilst Head of Mobile Financial Service, Eli Hini, grabbed Mobile Money Leadership Award.

On the banking front, Standard Chartered Bank, was adjudged Digital Bank of the Year, for driving financial inclusion and cashless systems. With the backdrop, Mobile Banking App of the Year, also went to SC Mobile, the digital banking platform of the same bank.

However, Universal Merchant Bank (UMB) emerged Most Improved Bank in Best use of Technology.

Dr. Ernest Addison, Governor of Bank of Ghana was honoured with Outstanding Contributions in Driving Financial Technology Award, whilst Minister of Communications, Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, was also awarded with Outstanding Contributions to the ICT Industry.

Chief Executive Officer, InstinctWave, organisers of GITTA, Akin Naphtal, siad in his address that the year 2020 has been quite a year, with COVID-19 taking the center stage impacting negatively on all sectors of the economy but ironically, creating a paradigm shift in the digital space and augmenting a tech transformation in all business sectors.

“I am proud to be a part of the new wave , as technology has become our shield in these hard times and has been instrumental in the fight against the deadly virus.

We find no better time than now to honour organisations and industry experts who have been behind these laudable achievements,” he said.

List of award winners

Data Management company of the year- Dataware.

System Integrator of the Decade- Inlaks.

Mobile VAS Provider of the Year- Afrifanom LTD.

Social Impact Award- MTN.

Customer Experience of the year- Vodafone.

Mobile Banking App of the year- Standard Chartered.

Cyber Security Company of the Year- e-Crime Bureau.

Excellence in IT regulation- NITA.

Customer Experience of the Decade- MTN Customer Service.

Best ATM and Kiosks Implementation- ABSA.

Most Improved Bank in Best Use of technology- UMB.

Software Company of the Year- Afrifanom LTD.

Digital Transformation Award- MTN.

Payments and Clearing Technology provider of the year- Ghana Interbank Payment and Settlement Systems (GhIPSS).

Excellence in Promoting ICT Inclusion Award- GIFEC.

Telecom Business of the Decade- Vodafone.

Phone Brand of the Decade- Tecno.

ISP Company of the Decade- IS.

Mobile Money provider of the Decade- MTN MoMo.

Best Bank for Financial Inclusion – Zenith Bank Ghana.

Enterprise Solutions Provider of the Decade- Comsys.

Promoting Public Sector Digital Inclusion- Ascend Digital Solutions.

Phone Distributor of the Decade- Mobile Zone.

Fintech Company of the Year- Zeepay.

Best use of IT to drive Efficiency- DVLA.

Digital Bank of the Year- Standard Chartered.

Emerging ICT Company of the Year- Technology Advantage Group.

ICT Hall of Fame- Comsys.

Digital Enabler of the Year- Vodafone.

Mobile Operator of the Decade- MTN.

Mobile Financial and Telecommunications Advocate of the year- Derek Barnabas Laryea, Head of Research & Communications, Ghana Chamber of Telecommunications. .

CIO of the Year- Sylvester Apedoe, UMB.

IT Professional of the of the Year- Nana osei Kwesi Afrifa, CEO, Afrifanom.

ICT Driven CEO of the Year- Benjamin Amenumey , CEO, UMB.

Payment Industry Personality of the Year- Archie Hesse, CEO, GHIPS.

Outstanding Contribution to Telecom Advocacy- Ing. Kenneth Ashigbey, Chief Executive Officer, Ghana Chamber of Telecommunications.

ISP Leader of the year- Yvette Adounvo Atekpe, Regional MD, Iinternet Solutions.

ICT Entrepreneur of the Decade- MD, Telesol, Funmi Lamptey.

ICT Entrepreneur of the Decade- CEO, Comsys, Jonathan Lamptey.

Fintech CEO of the Year- CEO, Zeepay, Andrew Takyi-Appiah.

Public Sector ICT CEO of the Year- Kwasi Agyeman Busia, CEO, DVLA.

ICT Man of the Year- Abraham Kofi Asante, Administrator, GIFEC.

Industry Personality of the Year- Selorm Adadevoh, CEO, MTN Ghana.

Telecom CEO of the Year- Patricia Obo-Nai, CEO, Vodafone Ghana.

Outstanding Contributions in Driving Financial Technology Award- Dr Ernest Addison Governor, Bank of Ghana.

Outstanding Contribution to the ICT Industry- Ursula Owusu-Ekuful, Minister of Communications.

Innovative product of the year (big time extra bundle)- Airteltigo.

Emerging after sales and maintenance of ICT company of the year- BLUNAP Ghana.

Datacentre of the year- Medallion.

Mobile money leadership award- Eli Hini. Head Mobile Financial Service, MTN Ghana.

Tower Company of the decade- ATC.

Infrastructure Company of the decade- ATC.

Telecom CEO of the year- Patricia Obo Nai, CEO, Vodafone Ghana.


Leave a Reply