PIAC gets new committee members

Members of PIAC taking the oath of office

The Deputy Minister of Finance, Abena Osei–Asare, has sworn into office new members of the Public Interest and Accountability Committee (PIAC).

Whilst the mandate of some of the members have been renewed for the next two years some new faces have also been added to the Committee.

The Deputy Minister said the petroleum industry is expected to grow after the final ITLOS ruling on the Ghana-Cote d’Ivoire Maritime Boundary Dispute. And in view of the developments within the last 18 months saw the first oil from both the Tweneboa-Enyenra-Ntomme (TEN) and Sankofa Gye Nyame (SGN) Fields increased oversight responsibility would be required

She, therefore, challenged the Committee to create an informed citizenry amid the increasing expectation by the general public from PIAC while reiterating her commitment to ensuring that PIAC is well-resourced.

This is expected to enable the Committee to play its oversight role as an accountability institution with respect to petroleum revenue management.

She said: “This commitment was reflected in PIAC’s budgetary approval by this administration, and the seriousness attached to providing a permanent office accommodation to the Committee. Finally, the scheduled forum on PIAC in January 2018, called for by the President, cements this government’s commitment to an empowered PIAC.”

Madam Abena Osei–Asare was optimistic that the relationship between PIAC and the Ministry will continue to grow for the benefit of the country. “Good governance of our Country is a shared responsibility; we must all, therefore, position ourselves to play our part,” she added.

Whilst welcoming the new members into office she also paid glowing tribute to all the outgoing and outgone members of the Committee from the era of Major Ablorh-Quarcoo to Professor Paul K. Buah-Bassuah and Mr. Joseph Winful.

“PIAC has become a key partner with other stakeholders in our quest for transparent and accountable management of our petroleum revenues for the benefit of the people of Ghana.”

She called on the incoming members to bring on board their expertise in order to build on the successes of their predecessors

“It is worthy of note that, a strong accountability institution has been achieved in PIAC over the years and you would be required, from your accumulated experiences, to bring innovative ideas and solutions to bear as members and make your presence on the Committee felt.”

PIAC was established in September 2011, after the coming into force of the Petroleum Revenue Management Act, 2011 (PRMA).

The Committee is tasked with the oversight responsibility of monitoring and evaluating the management of Ghana’s petroleum resources by the Government and relevant stakeholder institutions.

Over the period the work of the Committee has been lauded given the role it has played in deepening transparency and accountability in the utilization of the petroleum revenue.

The members of the Committee whose mandate have been renewed are Dr. Steve Manteaw -representing Ghana Extractive Industry Transparency Initiative (GHEITI), Dr. Thomas Kojo Stephens, representing the Ghana Bar Association (GBA) and Dr. Roland Affail Monney, representing the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA).

The new members are Ogyeahoho Yaw Gyebi II, National House of Chiefs, replacing Osabarima Kwaw Entsei II of Omanhene of Mpohor Tradition Area in the Western Region, Mr. Noble Wadzah, Civil Society and Community-based Organisations, replacing Mr. Kwame Jantuah (former Vice Chair) and Alhaji Abdulai Alhassan, Federation of Muslim Council and Ahmadiyya Missions, Ghana replacing Mr. Mohammed Affum.

Leave a Reply