Presidential Grand Ball to honour five music heroes, others

Obour, MUSIGA Prez

Five legendary Ghanaian musicians are to be honored at the Presidential Grand Ball organised by the Musicians Union of Ghana (MUSIGA) at the Banquet Hall of the State House on December 29. According to the President of the Union, the decision was taken by the Board of the Presidential Grand Ball.

Nana Kwame Ampadu
A. B Crentsil
C.K. Mann
J. A. Adofo
Jewel Ackah

The five music heroes are to be honored with a cash package of GH¢10,000 each and a plaque at the event. The Music Heroes are C. K Mann, Nana Ampadu, Jewel Ackah, J.A Adofo and A.B Crentsil.

In addition to the music heroes, a number of individuals and institutions will be honored with the Music Pillar Award for their distinguished contribution to the development of the music industry in Ghana.

They are CEO of Eurostar Rentals, Oscar Doe; CEO of Charterhouse, Theresa Ayoade; former Chairman of the National Commission on Culture, Ebo Hawkson; and the former CEO of the Ghana Forestry Commission, Samuel Afari-Dartey who is the outgoing chairman of the Grand Ball Board. MTN will also receive an award for their support for the music industry.

Meanwhile, the National Executive Committee of MUSIGA has announced a reconstituted board for the Presidential Grand Ball under the chairmanship of the CEO of the National Communications Authority (NCA), Hassan Tampuli.

According to the MUSIGA President Bice Osei Kuffour aka Obour, the decision to reconstitute the board is to infuse fresh ideas and energy into the planning of the Presidential Grand Ball.

Other new members of the board include Perry Adamba, CEO of Multinational Insurance Brokers who is also the Chairman of the AMWeF Fund; Pearl Esua Mensah, CEO of Media General Group and Prophet Agyeman Prempeh, Founder and Head Pastor of SOJ Ministries.

Other new members of the board are Manish Nambiar, General Manager of Kempinski Gold Coast City Hotel, MaameAfiaAkoto, Deputy CEO of MASLOC and Alexander Acheampong, Executive Director of FirstbanC and an artiste manager.

They join Kwame Sefa-Kayi of Peace FM who is the first Vice Chairman of the board; William Adjovu, CEO of Liberty Group, 2nd Vice Chairman of the board; Von Klaus Backustein, COO of EIB Group, Samuel Atta Mensah, MD of Citifm and Kupenda; Eddie Ankomah Kusi, Chairman of Erata Group and Nana Yaw BarimaKissi, CEO of High Brains Ltd.

The Coordinator of the Presidential Grand Ball, Georgina Bimpong paid glowing tribute to the outgoing chairman of the board Samuel Afari Dartey former CEO of the Forestry Commission for the exemplary leadership he provided for the board over the years. She expressed her excitement at the inclusion of the new members and assured patrons of an even more prestigious and exciting event this year.

The Presidential Grand Ball is an initiative of MUSIGA in support of the Ageing Musicians Welfare Fund (AMWeF) and other projects of the Union. The event brings together leaders of society, captains of industry and members of the diplomatic corp for an evening of quality entertainment and networking.

Some leading performers at the event have included the late Paapa Yankson, Bob Pinodo, Nana Kwame Ampadu, Osei Vasco, Becca, Bisa K Dei and others. This year’s event is slated for Friday, December 29, 2017 at the State House Banquet Hall and the President, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo is expected to grace the occasion.


Leave a Reply