Gov’t to create 38 new districts …as Parliament begins consideration of LI


The Ministry of Local Government and Rural Development (MLGRD) has laid a Legislative Instrument (LI) before Parliament for the creation of 38 districts in Ghana.

The Minister for the MLGRD, Hajia  Alima Mahama, was in Parliament yesterday and presented papers seeking the legislative arm of government to allow for the creation of new districts.

The Minister did so on the bases of Article 241 (1) of the 1992 Constitution, which states that for the purposes of local government, Ghana shall be deemed to have been divided into the districts in existence immediately before the coming into force of the Constitution.

 Furthermore, the constitution stipulates that Parliament may by law make provision for the redrawing of the boundaries of districts or for reconstituting the districts.

In that regard, the House passed the Local Governance Act, 2016 (Act 936) to allow for the creation of new districts in the country.

Section 1 (2) of the said Act dictates that, “the President may by Executive Instrument (a) declare any area within the country to be a district and (b) assign a name to the district.”

Against that backdrop Ahafo Ano South West District Assembly, Ahafo Ano South East District Assembly, Amansie South District Assembly, Akrofroum District Assembly, Adansi North District Assembly would be created.

Also, Amansie West District District Assembly, Atwima Nwabiagya North District Assembly, Adansi South District Assembly, Adansi Asokwa District Assembly, Obuasi East District Assembly would be established.

Furthermore, Afigya Kwabre South District Assembly, Afigya Kwabre North District Assembly, Pru West District Assembly, Berekum West District Assembly, ASSIN North District Assembly would be created.

However, Gomoa Central District Assembly, Gomoa East District Assembly, Asene Manso District Assembly, Okere District Assembly, Atiwa West District Assembly, Atwima East District Assembly have been listed.

Again, Fanteakwa South District Assembly, Fanteakwa North District Assembly, Nanton District Assembly, Bunkpurugu District Assembly, Yunyoo District Assembly, Bolga East District Assembly, Garu District Assembly, and Tempane District Assembly have been proposed to Parliament for establishment.

The move is to deepen the democratic and governance system in the country, the Minister told the media in an interview.

Places where the district are big should be divided into other districts, but that needs a legislative instrument because you will be changing boundaries, the Minister told journalists in Parliament after laying the paper.

“So we have some districts that the President has elevated into municipal standards. In those instances they are not new assemblies, we are just elevating their status,” she observed.

The LI, as presented to Parliament requires 21 days for maturity, from which time the Ministry could start any preparation towards the establishment.

Leave a Reply