Abiola Bawuah, Joseph Ampofo, win big at maiden Accountancy & Finance Awards


The maiden edition of the Ghana Accountancy and Finance Awards came off at the Movenpick Hotel, Accra, with financial industry big-names walking away with the honours.

Abiola Bawuah, CEO of UBA Ghana, was adjudged Finance Personality of the Year – adding to the growing portfolio of awards she has picked up in 2017 alone. Joseph Ampofo of Enterprise Trustees won the Pensions CEO of the Year, while Seth Obiri of United Pensions Trustee walked away with Pension Scheme Administrator (Individual) of the Year. 

The night saw institutions like Enterprise Trustees, United Pension Trustees, Axis Pensions, FirstBanC Financial Services and others pick up more than one award on the night.

The awards provide a platform to recognise individuals and companies that play a significant role in the accounting and finance sector’s development, while recognising key functions within the industry which promote standards and excellent stewardship.

Deputy Finance Minister, Abena Osei Asare, assured the industry of government’s continuous support and creation of the needed enabling environment for them to flourish and help grow the economy.

“This industry is crucial to the development of this nation. With a growing pensions industry that is bringing in a lot of patient capital, businesses can now plan long-term; and it is our duty to put in policies and measures that make your life more comfortable,” she said.

Mrs. Bawuah, in dedicating her award to hardworking women, thanked the organisers and urged everyone to continue doing what they do because they never can tell who is watching.

The awardees include Pension Fund Manager of the Year, Frontline Capital Advisors; Pension Scheme Administrator (Corporate Trustee) of the Year, United Pension Trustee; Pension Scheme of the Year, Petra Advantage Pension Scheme; Best Pension Service Provider, Axis Pensions Trust; and Pension Trustee Board of the Year, Enterprise Trustees Limited.

Accounts and Finance Team of the Year for Insurance, Metropolitan Life Insurance; Accounts and Finance Team of the Year for Manufacturing, Olam Ghana; Accounts and Finance Team of the Year for Oil and Gas, Petrosol Ghana Limited; Accounts and Finance Team of the Year for Savings and Loans, Abii National Savings and Loans; Accounts and Finance Team of the Year for Automotive, Japan Motors Trading Company; and Accounts and Finance Team of the Year for Retail, Melcom Limited.

Best Commodities Finance Company, Ecom Ghana Limited; Savings and Loans Company of the Year, uniCredit Ghana Limited; Best Corporate Trustee in Customer Service, Axis Pensions Trust; Best Corporate Trustee in Education and Sensitisation, Petra Trust; Best Investment Fund, Axe Capital Advisors; Best Pension Custodian, HFC Bank Custody Services; Best Pension Fund Company for Informal Sector, Axis Pension Trust; Best Savings and Loans Product, Firstrust Savings and Loans; and Best Trade Finance Company, Sahel Sahara Bank.

Best Wealth Management Service Firm, FirstBanC Financial Services; Digital Finance Innovation Award, Ghana Community Network Services; Innovative Finance Package of the Year; Commerz Savings and Loans; Innovative Tax Administration Company of the Year, West Blue Consulting; Insurer of the Year, Activa International Insurance; Money Market Team of the Year, Energy Bank Ghana Limited; Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility, FirstBanC Financial Services; and Outstanding Corporate Governance in Pensions, Glico Pensions.

Pensions Innovation Award, ESA Pensions Trust; Promising Savings and Loans Company, Direct Savings and Loans; Risk Management Company of the Year, Wealth Management Limited; Training Company of the Year, JPCann Associates; Recruitment Company of the Year, L’aine Services.

For the NPRA-sponsored categories, the Top Three Transparent Pension Custodians were Ecobank, Standard Chartered and Stanbic banks; Top Three Transparent Pension Corporate Trustees – Petra, Metropolitan Pension and Enterprise trustees; and Top Three Pension Fund Managers – Databank Asset Management, Prudential Securities and Cidan Investment.

The Special Category, Lifetime Achievement Award went to Dr. Kwabena Duffuor, Executive Chairman of HODA Group; and Outstanding Contribution to Finance Industry went to Dr. Kwame Achampong-Kyei, Executive Chairman of GLICO Group.

Leave a Reply