Dr. Steve Manteaw elected as new PIAC Chairman


A policy analyst with the Integrated Social Development Centre (ISODEC), Dr. Steve Manteaw, has been elected to chair the Public Interest and Accountability Committee (PIAC) whilst Dr. Thomas Kojo Stephens, of the Ghana Bar Association (GBA), was elected Vice Chair.

PIAC, established in 2011, under the Petroleum Revenue Management Act (Act 815) and mandated to among others monitor compliance with the Act is required to elect a Chair to lead the affairs of the Committee.

Section 54 (4) of the PRMA states “The committee members shall elect their own chairperson from among the members at their first meeting.” In line with this provision, the reconstituted Committee, unanimously elected to the two members to steer the affairs of the Committee for the next one year.

The newly elected Chairman as a norm administered the Official Oath and the Oath of Secrecy to the representative of the Association of Ghana Industries and Ghana Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Ing. Frederick Alipui who replaces Mr. Charles Atuahene.

Also, sworn-in was Mr. Joseph Winful of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana (ICAG) whose tenure was renewed for another two years. The two were unavailable for swearing-in by the Deputy Minister on February 1, 2018.

It would be recalled that new members were sworn in on February 1, 2018, together with some continuing members who had their tenures renewed for two years having taken the Official Oath and the Oath of Secrecy administered by the Deputy Minister of Finance, Ms. Abena Osei–Asare.

Mr. Noble Wadzah representing Civil Society and Community-based Organisations, Ogyeahoho Yaw Gyebi II representing the National House of Chiefs and Alhaji Abdulai Alhassan representing the Federation of Muslim Council and Ahmadiyya Missions, Ghana (Muslim Group) are the new members who were sworn in.

The members who had their tenures renewed for two years were Dr. Steve Manteaw, representative of the Ghana Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative (GHEITI), Dr. Thomas Kojo Stephens of the Ghana Bar Association (GBA) and Mr. Roland Affail Monney of the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA).

Leave a Reply