Prof. Kwaku Appiah-Adu wins Outstanding Energy Management Award


At the 6th Ghana Energy Awards organised on 25th November 2022 at the Labadi Beach Hotel, Prof. Kwaku Appiah-Adu won the Outstanding Energy Management Award.

This year’s event had His Excellency Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia as Special Guest of Honour representing the president, with Deputy Minister of Energy Hon. Dr. Mohammed Amin Adam representing the sector minister.

Kwaku Appiah-Adu (PhD, FGA), a Professor of Strategy, is currently a Senior Policy Advisor at the Vice President’s Secretariat, Office of the President, Republic of Ghana.

Prof Kwaku Appiah-Adu is the national coordinator of the Energy Sector Recovery Programme (ESRP). Additionally, he chairs the AfCFTA’s Infrastructure-related Technical Working Group and is a member of the International Financial Services Centre Working Group. Furthermore, he is a member of the Digital Economy Policy and National Asset Management Policy Working Groups.

An author of several books and with over 100 publications, Prof Appiah-Adu is a Fellow of the Ghana Academy of Arts and Sciences and has been elected to the ANBAR Hall of Excellence for Outstanding Contributions to the Literature and Body of Knowledge.

Currently, under his leadership as Coordinator of the ESRP there has been improved liquidity in the energy sector’s value chain; and the budgeting for and payment of sector shortfalls by the Ministry of Finance through the sound establishment of the Cash Waterfall Mechanism (CWM), Natural Gas Clearinghouse (NGC) and Integrated Planning Process for power based on the Energy Supply and Infrastructure Plan and amendments to the Public Financial Management Act.

On Governance & Policy Actions, Prof. Appiah-Adu has led his team to achieve the underlisted:

  1. Energy Sector Task Force (ESTF) established and re-constituted
  2. Policy on Least Cost Fuel Procurement Strategy issued
  3. Policy on Competitive Procurement of Energy Supply and Service Contracts issued
  4. Cash Waterfall Mechanism (CWM) established and operational
  5. Natural Gas Clearinghouse (NGC) established and operational
  6. Integrated Planning Process for power based on ‘Energy Supply and Infrastructure Plan’ and amendments to regulations to the PFM Act – Integrated Power Sector Master Plan (IPSMP) is integrated in 2021 Supply Plan and PPTC

Cost Reduction Actions      

  1. Revised Weighted Average Cost of Gas (WACOG) to US$6.08/mmbtu
  2. Relocated Karpowership from Tema to Sekondi and converted all the engines to use Natural Gas instead of HFO
  3. Completed the Takoradi Tema Inter-connection Project (TTIP) allowing reverse flow of gas (up to 120 MMscfd) from Takoradi to Tema
  4. Reduction and delay of Tema LNG take or pay obligation, and cancellation of Takoradi LNG

Revenue Improvement Measures

  1. Upward adjustment of end user tariffs by PURC for both residential and commercial customers by 11.17%
  2. MOF payments to third parties on behalf of ECG


Other winners on the night were the Minister for Energy, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh; Ing. Emmanuel Antwi-Darkwa, CEO-VRA; Dr. Ben K.D. Asante, CEO-Ghana Gas; Lawyer Sam Dubik Mahama, MD-ECG; Mr. Kofi Dzamesi, CEO-BPA; Dr. Ishmael Ackah, Executive Secretary-PURC; Ing. Oscar Amonoo-Neizer, Executive Secretary-Energy Commission, among other corporate awards won by a host of institutions.

Leave a Reply