Health Ministry receives medical supplies from China to combat COVID-19

As part of efforts to control the spread of COVID-19 in Ghana, the Chinese government, yesterday, donated some medical supplies to the Ministry of Health in Accra.
The medical supplies include 3,000 N95 Protective Face Masks, 10,000 Protective Face Masks, 2500 Disposable Coveralls, 800 Infrared Thermometers, 2,500 Medical Goggles, 10,000 Single Use Gloves, and 10,000 Disposable Shoe Covers.
The donation comes at a time when frontline health workers and hospitals have expressed frustrations about inadequate medical supplies to aid their work and protect them against contracting the pandemic.
In a short ceremony at the Kotoka International Airport, the Minister of Health, Kwaku Agyeman-Manu, accompanied by Shirley Ayorkor Botchway, Foreign Affairs Minister, thanked the Chinese government for supporting Ghana and other African countries in these critical times.
Mr. Agyeman-Manu indicated that the government had already embarked on an initiative to produce locally manufactured gears.
“About five local companies have been contracted to sew protective face masks and coveralls,” he said, adding that, within the next ten days, the government will be taking delivery of 3.6 million face masks from local manufacturing companies.
The Chinese Ambassador to Ghana, Shi Ting Wang, who made the presentation, noted that, even though COVID-19 had caused a global shortage of medical supplies due to great demand, China through this effort hopes to demonstrate its commitment to fighting COVID-19 and strengthening China – Africa relations.
Mr. Wang noted that the donation forms part of China committing 60 metric tons of materials to 18 African countries, including Ghana. The supplies, he stated, include N95 face masks, medical protective suites, goggles, gloves to medical apparatus like exergen temporal artery thermometer and ventilators. The beneficiary countries, besides Ghana, also include Nigeria, Senegal, Gabon, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Liberia, Mali, Burkina Faso, Equatorial Guinea, Togo, Benin, Republic of Congo, Cape Verde, Sao Tome, and Principe.
Article Rating
See Also:  Economy’s normalisation begins with launch of GH¢600m stimulus package – Finance Minister
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments