Deserving oil and gas players recognised at GOGA 2020


Despite a tough year for the oil and gas industry, wherein the ongoing pandemic took its toll on the supply chains and prices of commodities, distinguished players were recognised and honoured for their contributions to the energy sector at the 2020 edition of the Ghana Oil and Gas Awards (GOGA).

The event brought together individuals and institutions from the upstream, midstream, downstream and ancillary services which have exhibited resilience, distinguished themselves and supplemented government’s efforts in stemming the tide of the virus.

Offering remarks on the night, Chief Executive Officer of the Ghana Chamber of Telecommunication Ing. Kenneth Ashigbey noted that contrary to the notion held by some, awards schemes are not superfluous but have practical value as they drive productive competitiveness.

“As we mark the transformation that we have gone through as a nation after discovering oil in the country, and the excellence that has characterised the work which has gone on in it, I think it is important we celebrate excellence so that it engenders more excellence,” he stated.

On his part, Board Chairman of the governing council, Prof. Nana Esselfie Konduah, reiterated remarks made by the organiser, Richard Abbey Jnr., on the rigorous steps taken in the selection and awarding process.

“We don’t take the processes lightly because we know our reputations are at stake; but more importantly, it has implications for how people interact with the companies.” He hinted that there could be a broadening of the scheme to include more of the ancillary service providers who are indispensable in the sector’s proper functioning of the.

The night saw 41 awards conferred on deserving persons and companies. Goil Company Limited’s Kwame Osei-Prempeh was adjudged CEO of the Year [Downstream], while CEO of the Year (Upstream) went to Charles Addo of Meridian Logistics and Engineering Limited.  Entrepreneur of the Year (Downstream) was Zakari Ibrahim of Pacific Oil Ghana Ltd., and Entrepreneur of the Year (Upstream) was received by Kofi Amoa-Abban – Rigworld Group Ltd.

Other award-winners included Brand of the Year – Total Petroleum Ghana Plc; Bulk Distributing Company of the Year – Juwel Energy; Overall Oil and Gas Company of the Year-Downstream, Juwel Energy; Oil and Gas Company of the Year-Upstream, Technipfmc Ghana Ltd.; Indigenous Oil Company of the Year [Downstream] – Petrosol Ghana Ltd.; Indigenous Oil Company of the Year [Upstream] -Harlequin Oil and Gas Ltd.; Industry Excellence Award – James Kwoku Ahiadome.

Others are Oil and Gas Institution of the Year, Rigworld Training Centre; Oil and Gas Logistics Company of the Year, Kodson Plus Company Limited; Oil and Gas Personality of the Year, S.N Dowuona Owoo-Adonai Shipping;  Oil and Gas Service Company of the Year [Shipping], Adonai Shipping Ltd.; Oil and Gas Service Company of the Year [Lifting], Jonmoore International Limited; Oil and Gas Service Company of the Year [Catering], Transatlantic Catering Service Ltd.; Oil and Gas Service Company of the Year [Bunkering], Ai Energy Group Limited; Oil Marketing Company of the Year, Goil Company Limited.

The rest are Best Growing Oil & Gas Company of the Year, Pacific Oil Ghana Ltd.; Consultancy Company of the Year, Africa Centre For Energy Policy; Depot of the Year, Tema Tank Farm- Chase Logistics; Emerging Brand of the Year, Andev Company Limited; Engineering and Construction Company of the Year, Meridian Logistics and Engineering Limited; Excellence In Corporate Social Responsibility [Downstream] – Vivo Energy Ghana (Shell Licencee); Excellence In Corporate Social Responsibility: [Upstream], Technipfmc Ghana Limited; Excellence In Health, Safety, Environment And Quality [Downstream],Puma Energy Distribution Ghana Ltd.; and Excellence in Health, Safety, Environment and Quality [Upstream], AI Energy Group Limited.

Haulage Company of the Year, J.K. Ahiadome Transport & Company Limited; LPG Marketing Company of the Year, Manbah Gas Company Ltd.; Lubricant Product of the Year, Total Quartz 9000 Future Ow20; Marketing Campaign of the Year, Total Petroleum Ghana Plc- Total Loyalty Scheme; Petroleum  Dealer of the Year, Goil Burma Camp Service Station; Recruitments Company of the Year, Rigworld International Services; Unsung Hero of the Year, Stanley Owusu-Asamoah –J.K.Ahiadome Transport & Company Ltd.; Unsung Hero of the Year, Shirley Tony Kum- Vivo Energy Ghana (Shell Licencee); COVID-19 Response Award, Meridian Logistics and Engineering Ltd.

The Institute for Energy Security (IES) was adjudged Policy Activist of the Year, while Henry Osei and Senyo Hosi received Special Recognition as Young Achiever and for Leadership respectively.

Leave a Reply