Prez. nominates 14 ministers and deputies for newly created regions

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated 14 persons to be vetted and approved as regional ministers and deputy regional ministers for the newly created regions.

Out of the 14 persons, three were serving in various capacities as ministers, but have been reassigned, with 11 new faces joining the fray.

The likes of Kwabena Okyere Darko-Mensah, the member of parliament for Takoradi , was a deputy minister Aviation until his recent appointment as Western regional minister nominee, Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu, member of parliament for Bibiani-Anhwiaso-Bekwai was a deputy minister for health heads to Western North as nominee for minister whiles Solomon Namliit Boar, member of parliament for Bunkpurugu was the deputy Northern region minister but has been nominated as North East regional minister.

Municipal Chief Executive (MCE) for Sunyani, Evelyn Richardson has been named Minister for the Bono Region.

Member of Parliament for Atebubu, Kofi Amoakohene has been nominated  Minister for the Bono East Region while Kwasi Owusu Yeboah is Minister for the Oti Region.

The rest are  Salaga South MP, Salifu Braimah who has been nominated as Minister for the Savannah Region.

In a release signed by the president and  sent to the Speaker of parliament on Thursday, it noted that the decision follows the creation of six new administrative regions in the  country and in accordance with article 256(1) and (2)of the constitution.

See Also:  ENI boss makes strong case for local participation

The Speaker has accordingly referred the nominations to the Appointments Committee for vetting of the respective persons and report.

Deputy Ministerial roles

Hon. Siaka Stevens, MP                           -Deputy Minister, Bono Region

Hon Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere, MP      -Deputy Minister, Ahafo Region

Mr. Samuel Yeyu Tika                               -Deputy Minister, Savannah Region

Mr. Tahiru Tia Ahmed                               -Deputy Minister, North East Region

Hon. John Benam                                      -Deputy Minister, Northern Region

Hon. Alex Tetteh, MP                               – Deputy Minister, Western North Region

Mr. Johnson Avuletey                               -Deputy Minister, Volta Region

President Nana Addo has however asked the house to expedite actions to approve the nominees.




Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of