B&FT’s Kizito Cudjoe, 20 others shortlisted for GJA awards

The Business and Financial Times (B&FT) Ashanti Regional correspondent, Kizito Cudjoe, has been selected along with other journalists for this year’s Ashanti Regional Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) awards.

The 21 journalists shortlisted in the Region, including Mr. Cudjoe, are competing for various honors in the over 24 categories opened for the contest earlier in the year.

Following his outstanding work in the Region over the period, he received various recognition, home and abroad, including being awarded the 2016 Ashanti Regional Tourism Correspondent of the Year, in the print category.

At a press conference to announce the successful contestants, for the final awards ceremony which comes off on May 31, 2019, under the theme “The Media’s Mandate in Fostering Sustainable Environmental Sanitation,” in Kumasi, the five-member awards panel bemoan the low female participation in the contest.

In all, a total of 99 entries in 24 categories from eleven media houses were received by the Award Committee, out of which only one female journalist contested successfully.

Some of the categories include news reporting, agriculture and SME, investigative reporting, photojournalism, rural reporting, sports reporting, crime, and court reporting, and tourism and culture.

The members of the awards committee took turns to address the media and encouraged the journalists to uphold the ethics of the profession while also pursuing stories that impact the development of the country.

The Committee includes Mad. Elizabeth Kankam Boadu of the Ghana News Agency (GNA), Mr. Sebastian Freiku of The Chronicle newspaper, Mr. Saaed Ali Yaqub of the Multimedia Kumasi, Mr. Kofi Adu Domfeh of the Media General and Mr. Johnson Gyampo with The Pioneer newspaper.

The shortlisted journalists were announced as follows:

  1. Asenso Mensah (Multimedia)
  2. Jeff Nsiah Boadu (UTV)
  3. Benjamin Aidoo (TV3)
  4. Kwadwo Boadu (UTV)
  5. Beatrice Spio-Garbrah (TV3)
  6. Kwasi Debrah (Multimedia)
  7. Erastus Asare Donkor (Multimedia)
  8. Kizito Cudjoe (B&FT)
  9. Isaac Amoah (The New Trust)
  10. Kwadwo Baffoe Donkor (Graphic)
  11. Mahmud Mohammed-Nurudeen (Multimedia)
  12. Hafiz Tijani (Citi FM)
  13. Daniel Kenu (Graphic)
  14. Emmanuel Baah (Graphic)
  15. Yussif Ibrahim (GNA)
  16. Nana Yaw Gyimah (Multimedia)
  17. Prince Appiah (Multimedia)
  18. Ivan Heathcote Fumador (EIB)
  19. Ibrahim Abubakar (TV3)
  20. Nicholas Osei-Wusu (GBC)
  21. Richmond Frimpong (Oyerepa FM)
0 0 vote
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments