President nominates four new Justices of the Supreme Court

The President has nominated four new Justices of the Supreme Court in accordance with Article 144(2) of the constitution pending Parliamentary approval.

The four includes: Justice Samuel K. Marful-Sau (Justice of Appeal), Justice Agnes M.A.Dordzie(Justice of Appeal),Prof.Nii Ashie Kotey, former Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Ghana, Legon and Nene A.O.Amegatcher, private legal practitioner and former President of Ghana Bar Association.

This was contained in a statement sent to the Speaker of Parliament, Prof. Aaron Mike Oquaye on the nomination of the four.

“Upon receipt of the Judicial Council’s advice, and in accordance with my duty under Article 144(2), I consulted with the Council of State by submitting the names and curricula vitae of the nominees for appointment to the Supreme Court.

The Council of State has notified my office that the consultation process for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court is now complete” the statement captured.

It further indicated that it was seeking the approval of Parliament for the appointment of the nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court.

The President also expressed his hope that Parliament will expedite the approval process of the nominees to enable them assume office as soon as practicable.

Presently, there 12 Justices of the Supreme Court namely ; Ms Justice Sophia Akuffo- Chief Justice, Mr. Justice William Atuguba, Mr Justice Julius Ansah, Mrs Justice Sophia Adinyera, Mr Justice Jones Dotse,Mr.Justice Anin Yeboah, Mr.Justice Paul Baffoe-Bonnie, Mr.Justice A.A.Benin, Mr Justice Sule Gbadegbe, Mr. Justice Yaw Appau,Mr.Justice Gabriel Pwamang and Mrs. Justice Vida Akoto Bamfo.

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of