Merban Old Staff Association inaugurated

The Merban Old Staff Association (MOSA) has been formally inaugurated in Accra. MOSA comprises ex-staff of the erstwhile Merchant Bank (Ghana) Ltd. and Universal Merchant Bank. It started informally with seventeen staff on a ‘WhatsApp platform’, which has over the two years grown into a formidable group of about two hundred and thirty members, including former Managing Directors of Merchant Bank.

The group aims to develop the common bond existing between all ex-staff of Merchant Bank and Universal Merchant Bank (UMB), as well as to be of assistance and service in matters pertaining to members, and establish networking and business links for collaboration. Based on its strong ethical and professional training, and its current combination of experts in various fields, MOSA also expects to continue usong these strengths in the business environment of Ghana and beyond.

It was an exciting moment as members who had joined the bank since inception in March 1972 attended, in the likes of Mr. E. H. Mason, P. O. Dickens and Isaac Essuon.

The inauguration ceremony was chaired by Mr. Paarock Van-Percy, former Director-General of National Communications Authority, and Board Chairman of Cal Bank.

Some ex-Managing Directors, Mr. Peter Iliasu and Mr. Paul Baah-Sackey, as well as some old guards – Mr. D. B. Ansah, former Executive Director; and Dr. Yeboa Amoa, first Managing Director of the Ghana Stock Exchange, also graced the occasion.

See Also:  GHASALC extends more support in COVID-19 fight

A former Managing Director, Mr. Paul Baah-Sackey who spoke on the theme ‘Preparing for Retirement’, said socialising and networking are good for retired staff to beat the challenges of idleness and loneliness after several decades of active service. He encouraged all to take an active interest and participate in the activities of MOSA.

There was an exhibition and sale of products by entrepreneurs within the group, as well as swearing-in of the Executive members by Dr. Yeboa Amoa.

The Executive members are Mr. E.K.O Appiah (President); Minister Joseph Gyekye-Eck (Vice-President); Mrs. Elsie Osei-Owusu (Secretary); Mrs. Jessie Neequaye (Treasurer); Mr. Clarkson Acheampong (Financial Secretary); and Ms. Alberta Quarcoopome (Organising Secretary).

Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments