Appointments Committee ends vetting of sector ministers

February 10, 2017
Source: Eugene Davis/
Appointments Committee ends vetting of sector ministers

The Appointment Committee of Parliament has completed the vetting of 36 sector ministers.

On Thursday, the last round of sector minister nominees for the Fisheries and Aquaculture and Information portfolios took their turn to wrap up the over three weeks grilling.

The President of Ghana has already sworn in 25 of the ministers vetted out of the 36, though one of the ministers, Otiko Djaba, Minister for Gender, Children and Social Protection, has been sued by two Minority MPs following her approval by parliament.

Two NDC MPs, MP for Ashaiman, Ernest Norgbey, and the MP for Juaboso, Kwabena Mintah Akandoh, filed a writ at the Supreme Court to revoke the appointment of Madam Djaba praying the court to nullify her nomination and swearing-in due to her failure to undertake the mandatory national service.

The Minority in Parliament had kicked against and subsequently boycotted her approval in Parliament.

Another Minister nominee, Catherine Afeku may face similar problems following her admission she too did not undertake the mandatory national service.

Mr.Mahama Ayariga had alleged that Mr. Agyarko tried bribing 10 Minority members on the Committee with GHc 3,000 each.

The Railways Development Minister, also former Attorney-General, Joe Ghartey, has been tasked to lead a five-member committee approved by Parliament, to investigate the bribery scandal.

The committee was given 30 days [till March 3, 2017] to come out with its findings.

Among some of the Ministers approved and sworn-in are;  Senior Minister, Yaw Osafo-Maafo,Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh,Minister of Interior, Ambrose Dery,Minister for National Security, Albert Kan-Dapaah,Minister for Railway Development, Joe Ghartey, Minister for Monitoring and Evaluation, Anthony Akoto Osei.

Some of the Ministers awaiting approval include;

Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu,Minister for Special Development Initiative,  Mavis Hawa Koomson,Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development, Elizabeth Afoley Quaye, Minister of Inner cities and Zongo Development, Abubakar Boniface Siddique, Minister of Business Development, Ibrahim Mohammed Awal, Minister for Information, Mustapha Abdul-Hamid, Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Kofi Dzamesi,Minister of Aviation, Cecelia Dapaah,Minister of Youth and Sports, Isaac Asiamah, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts, Catherine Ablema Afeku, Minister for Planning, Professor Gyan Baffour.

Next up for the Committee is the commencement of regional ministers which is set to begin on Monday(13th February,2017).